The 2020 recipients of the prestigious Avery Fisher Career Development Grants have today been announced, in New York City – including VC Artists Zlatomir Fung and Stella Chen

This year’s 3 grant recipients are:

  • Cellist, VC Artist Zlatomir Fung
  • Violinist, VC Artist Stella Chen
  • Baroque Violinist, Rachell Ellen Wong

Administered by the Avery Fisher Artist Program, each grant winner will receive USD $25,000 to assist with career development opportunities.

A student of Richard Aaron and Timothy Eddy at The Juilliard School, Zlatomir is a former 1st prize winner at the Schoenfeld and Enescu International Cello Competitions and the Young Concert Artists and Astral Artists International Auditions – and was awarded 1st prize at the 2019 Tchaikovsky International Cello Competition, in Moscow.

A graduate of the New England Conservatory and Harvard University, where she studied with Donald Weilerstein and Miriam Fried and current student of Li Lin, Catherine Cho and Donald Weilerstein at The Juilliard School, Stella is a former prize winner at the Tibor Varga and Menuhin International Violin Competitions – and was awarded 1st prize at the 2019 Queen Elisabeth International Violin Competition, in Brussels.

A graduate of The Juilliard School, Rachell is a former prize winner at International J.S. Bach Competition – and has performed with the American Bach Soloists, Bach Collegium Japan, The Academy of Ancient Music and Les Arts Florissants.

Since 1976, more than 125 talented young musicians have been recognized with Avery Fisher Career Grant Awards – including Nadja Salerno-Sonnenberg, Dmitry Sitkovetsky, Joshua Bell, Sarah Chang, Leila Josefowicz and Alisa Weilerstein – and VC Artists Dover Quartet, Stephen Waarts, Chad Hoopes, Bella Hristova, Stefan Jackiw, Augustin Hadelich, Tessa Lark, Alexi Kenney, Benjamin Beilman, Itamar Zorman, Francisco Fullana, Angelo Xiang Yu, Simone Porter and Paul Huang.