German violin duo, The Twiolins, has this week announced the six prize winners of the 2019 4th Progressive Classical Music Award – a composition prize initiated by the ensemble in an effort to expand the violin duet repertoire.

The 2019 prize winners are:

  • 1st prize: Piotr Szewczyk
  • 2nd prize: Jürgen Christ
  • 3rd prize: Edmund Jolliffe
  • 4th prize: Rainer Bartsch
  • 5th prize: Viktor Molnár
  • 6th prize: Daniel Berg

Piotr, a composer and violinist with the Jacksonville Symphony, in Florida, will receive €5000 – plus a professional CD recording of his new work.

The Twiolins duo, comprising brother and sister Marie-Luise and Chistoph Dingler, invited international composers to submit newly-composed violin duets up to 5 minutes in length.

Hosted in 2009, 2012 and 2015, this year’s jury comprised violinists Julian Rachlin and Aleksey Igudesman and composer Benedikt Byrdern – plus a public audience vote.

The winners were chosen from 344 entrants.