Superstar German violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter has this week been announced as 1 of 3 recipients of the prestigious 2019 Polar Music Prize – in Sweden.

Presented annually since 1989 by the Royal Swedish Academy of Music and the Stig Anderson Music Foundation to one contemporary and one classical musician, Ms Mutter will receive 1M Swedish Krona (US $110,000).

American hip hop recording artist Grandmaster Flash and the multimedia music project Playing For Changes were also presented with this year’s prize.

“We are delighted to honour three laureates this year – only the second time we’ve done so in our 28 year history … ” Polar Music Prize Managing Director Marie Ledin has said.

“It is a huge honour to be in this illustrious group of musicians who have received the Polar Music Prize … I’m deeply honoured and humbled,” Ms Mutter has said.

Previous recipients include: Yo-Yo Ma, Mstislav Rostropovich, the Kronos Quartet, Steve Reich, Valery Gergiev, Gyorgy Ligeti, Issac Stern, Paul McCartney, Elton John, Stevie Wonder, Bjork, Ray Charles, Bruce Springsteen, Sting, Peter Gabriel, Paul Simon, Metallica, Pink Floyd and Led Zeppelin.

The prize has been called the ‘Nobel Prize for Music’ in Sweden.