The 18 candidates progressing to the 2nd round of the 2018 George Enescu International Cello Competition have today been announced – in Bucharest, Romania.

The 2018 2nd round cello candidates are:

  • Anastasia Feruleva (Netherlands)
  • Anouchka Hack (Germany)
  • Antonin Musset (France)
  • Atanas Krastev (Bulgaria)
  • Constantin Borodin (Romania)
  • Florian Pons (France)
  • Giljae Lee (South Korea)
  • Guillaume Wang (Australia)
  • Haran Meltzer (Israel)
  • Ileana Stefania Waldenmayer (Italy)
  • IJohannes Gray (United States)
  • Keisuke Morita (Japan)
  • Laura Moinian (Germany)
  • Marcel Johannes Kits (Estonia)
  • Sandra Lied Haga (Norway)
  • Shizuka Mitsui (Japan)
  • Stanislas Kim (France)
  • Yibai Chen (China)

Open to international cellists 32 years and younger, the 1st prize winner will receive 15,000 EUR (US $17,000) – plus a number of important international performance invitations.

The 2018 cello jury will comprise: David Geringas (President), Raphael Wallfisch, Leonid Gorokhov, Alexandra Guţu, Philippe Muller, Jian Wang, Tsuyoshi Tsutsumi, Myung-Wha Chung, Arto Noras and Marin Cazacu.

Previous 1st prize winners include: VC Young Artist Zlatomir Fung.

Live streaming available exclusively on The Violin Channel.